Contemplative pedagogy is more than a trendy new teaching technique. It is a way for instructors to: empower students to integrate their own experience into the theoretical material they are being taught in order to deepen their understanding; help students to develop sophisticated problem-solving skills; support students' sense of connection to and compassion for others; and engender inquiries into students' most profound questions.
This book is predicated on the belief that the spiritual development of college students has been largely ignored in our colleges and universities, despite the importance of spiritual matters to young people in their quest to lead integrated lives.
A unique account of spirituality from traditional religion to the present that reveals the common thread that joins Mahayana Buddhism and Hasidic Judaism, the Sufi Rumi and the Catholic St. Thomas a Kempis, people of all faiths and those who are "spiritual but not religious." Argues that spirituality is the simple but extraordinarily difficult attempt to face life's rigors and disappointments by becoming more mindful, accepting, grateful, compassionate, and lovingly connected to others. These virtues oppose both the social ego's attachment and arrogance, and any habitual, unreflective religiosity; and the path towards them can be shared equally by people inspired by belief in one God or many, the divinity of nature or the sacredness of life.
Do religious experiences come from God, or are they merely the random firing of neurons in the brain? Drawing on his own research with Carmelite nuns, neuroscientist Mario Beauregard shows that genuine, life-changing spiritual events can be documented. He offers compelling evidence that religious experiences have a nonmaterial origin, making a convincing case for what many in scientific fields are loath to consider--that it is God who creates our spiritual experiences, not the brain.
When naturalist and falconer Helen Macdonald lost her beloved father, she “thought [her] world was ending.” Seems apropos, then, that her journey from crippling grief to something resembling grace is on the wings of another deadly bird of prey--the notoriously prickly, and murderous, goshawk. In H Is for Hawk, you will meet Mabel, not your typical bloodthirsty specimen, as she is trained to hunt like the goshawks of yore. It is this brash, slightly mad undertaking that wrenches Macdonald free from despair, and brings her to a place where she can begin again.
The Art of Stillness considers the unexpected adventure of staying put and reveals a counterintuitive truth: The more ways we have to connect, the more we seem desperate to unplug. Why might a lifelong traveler like Pico Iyer, who has journeyed from Easter Island to Ethiopia, Cuba to Kathmandu, think that sitting quietly in a room might be the ultimate adventure? Because in our madly accelerating world, our lives are crowded, chaotic and noisy.
Can drugs be used intelligently and responsibly to expand human consciousness and heighten spirituality? This two-volume work presents objective scientific information and personal stories aiming to answer the question. * Includes coverage of a variety of drugs, most of which are currently illegal in the United States, accompanied by scientific explanations of how they spur spiritual experiences * Offers compelling narratives from individuals—both laypeople and professionals—who found new dimensions within their lives and heightened their spirituality by the use of entheogens * Supplies information about medical experiments and new treatment modes that provide definitive breakthrough methods for caring for suffering people
This book explores the influence of digital media on spirituality and the impact of the digital environment on our experience of the spiritual world. The author predicts a future in which digital technology and neuroscience will combine to create a new understanding of the divine.
A key focus of this book is how Indigenous spiritual approaches revitalize identities and relationships within the workplace. However, the notion of workplace is not narrow, as it includes communities of engagement and practice in ecologies of creativity and enterprise in the broadest sense.
The aim of the text is to respond to gaps in an emergent discourse running along minority/majority world fault lines through various perspectives linking globalization, education and human rights. The editors' standpoint allows the consideration of equity in education as the foremost expression of social justice in this era of economic and technological globalization regardless of political or cultural contexts. This project continues the tradition of critical social pedagogy in creating common ground that accesses new approaches to political and classroom-based relations of power and praxis.
Teaching Mindfulness is the first in-depth treatment of the person and skills of the mindfulness teacher. It is intended as a practical guide to the landscape of teaching, to help those with a new or growing interest in mindfulness-based interventions to develop both the personal authenticity and the practical know-how that can make teaching mindfulness a highly rewarding and effective way of working with others.
Mindful Teaching and Teaching Mindfulness emphasizes how the teacher's personal familiarity with mindfulness plants the seed for an education infused with attention, awareness, kindness, empathy, compassion, and gratitude. The book follows a teacher from morning to night on a typical school day, at home, during the commute, and before, during, and after class.
Search Browzine for Journals by Title, Subject, or ISSN:
Below you will find databases to search as well as links to articles based on different subjects within Spirituality:
Indexes 650+ scholarly journals, book reviews, and collections of essays in religious studies; Also includes full text access to 60+ religion and theology journals selected by leading religion scholars and theologians.
The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century; The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposés of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Aupers, Stef, and Dick Houtman. "Beyond The Spiritual Supermarket: The Social And Public Significance Of New Age Spirituality." Journal Of Contemporary Religion 21.2 (2006): 201-222. Academic Search Complete. Web. 16 Feb. 2016.
Madden, Therese. "Journeys Of Purpose: A Review Of Literature About Work And Spirituality." International Journal Of Religion & Spirituality In Society 5.4 (2015): 69-76. Academic Search Complete. Web. 16 Feb. 2016.
Jensen, Gary F. and Ashley Thompson. "“Out Of The Broom Closet”: The Social Ecology Of American Wicca." Journal For The Scientific Study Of Religion 47.4 (2008): 753-766. Academic Search Complete. Web. 16 Feb. 2016.
Pettit, Andrew. "Spiritual But Not Religious: Understanding New Forms Of Spirituality, Community, And Worship Through The Musical Practice Of Kirtan." International Journal Of Religion & Spirituality In Society 3.3 (2014): 13-18. Academic Search Complete. Web. 16 Feb. 2016.
Hodder, Jacqueline. "Spirituality And Well-Being: 'New Age' And 'Evangelical' Spiritual Expressions Among Young People And Their Implications For Well-Being." International Journal Of Children's Spirituality 14.3 (2009): 197-212. Academic Search Complete. Web. 16 Feb. 2016.
Houtman, Dick and Stef Aupers. "The Spiritual Turn And The Decline Of Tradition: The Spread Of Post-Christian Spirituality In 14 Western Countries, 1981–2000." Journal For The Scientific Study Of Religion 46.3 (2007): 305-320. Academic Search Complete. Web. 16 Feb. 2016.
Doner, Jonathan. "Zero Information Practice: The Foundation Of Spiritual Experience." International Journal Of Religion & Spirituality In Society 5.4 (2015): 1-15. Academic Search Complete. Web. 16 Feb. 2016.
Campbell, A. (2013, March 1). Breathe in, breathe out - a way to conquer students' stress. The Globe and Mail. Retrieved from http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/education/breathe- in-breathe-out-a-way-to-conquer-students-stress/article9156091/
NOTE: for classroom and individual use only; not compatible with Google Chrome. Offering streaming through their Swank Digital Campus service, Swank Motion Pictures is the nontheatrical distributor for the majority of the major Hollywood studios as well as many independent, foreign, art house, and documentary offerings.
Interdisciplinary collection of over 40,000 full video titles (not just clips) and well over 20,000 hours of content from Alexander Street Press; Content types include: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, award-winning feature films, educational films for classroom instruction, and archival materials.
Access to high-quality digital programs and video clips; Available collections include the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection, Science Collection, Business and Economics Collection, and Health Collection.
Seeks to help create a space that promotes the process of individual and collective self-discovery, thereby fostering human qualities often called wisdom, consciousness, noble purpose, awe, mystery, wholeness, harmony, connectedness, tolerance and/or awareness.
SMBI at Teachers College, Columbia University, focuses on the research and practice of spirituality in psychology. In the clinical psychology program at Teachers College SMBI offers masters and doctoral level degrees.
The program has 2 concentrations:
* The MA in Spirituality: Contemporary Spirituality concentration
* The MA in Spirituality: Spiritual Direction concentration offers two options: Spiritual Accompaniment track and Ignatian Exercises track
Focuses on interprofessional education and research by working with organizations, foundations and volunteers to bring innovative approaches and programs to the forefront of health sciences education and research, and to clinical care.
Working toward a more compassionate system of healthcare by restoring the heart and humanity of medicine through research, education and policy work focused on bringing increased attention to the spiritual needs of patients, families and healthcare professionals.
Brown faculty with diverse academic specializations who are united around a common interest in studying the underlying philosophy, psychology, and phenomenology of contemplative experience, across time, cultures and traditions.