Skip to main content

SOP2772: Psychology of Sexual Behavior

Library Research Guide for Professor Sorah Dubitsky's Online Psychology of Sexual Behavior Class

What is this?

This is a guide to assist you with your Research Proposal. 

This guide will assist you in researching outside sources related to the content of the course and come up with a sex education program proposal.  

It will help you identify the top ten elements of the program using outside sources including websites and library databases.  It will help you critically analyze the differences in the diverse resources.

Use this guide to:

  • Analyze and understand the differences between a website and a peer-reviewed journal article.
  • Conduct basic literature searches for peer reviewed articles using the online library databases. 
  • Effectively search Google or the Internet for sex education programs.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of APA style.

This guide will:

  • Help you search the library databases (ERIC and PsychINFO) for research on sex education programs. 
  • Demonstrate how to search for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Answer the following questions which are required for your proposal:  What did you find using the library databases?  How was this information different than what you found using Google?  Did you find the same information in both searches?  What is the difference between a peer-reviewed scholarly article and a magazine article or website?

Off-Campus Student Resources

 

NOTE: For many of the resources listed, access on campus or through the "off-campus access" portal is required.  For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and other e-resources, you must log-in to   from the library homepage

After accessing the databases and resources, you may see   find it icon  -OR- find it icon small  in your search results, click this button to check for access to the full-text content. 

You can search the Libary Catalog for e-books and government documents or Course Reserves (the last checks for items your professor put on electronic reserve). Other resources for electronic resources include:

Loading

Using "Find it @ FIU"

So, what's Find it @ FIU?
It's an OpenURL link resolver.  Basically, when you perform a search in one of the library databases, such as Gale's Academic OneFile, you will at times see a button/link labeled "Find It @FIU" next to each article citation, like this:
 

Clicking on this button will also provide you with any available full-text options for the article. 

What does CitationLinker do?
It helps you find the full text of articles. When doing research, you often find a citation or maybe an abstract, of an article in a database but the text of the article isn’t included. CitationLinker and its associated tools (360Link, eJournal Portal, Find it) will let you check all the other library full text resources to see if you can get the article either in a different database or in the library’s print or microform periodicals.

Look for the “Find it @FIU” results screen sidebar on the right:

 

 

 

Loading