Skip to main content

Intro to Research: Honors College

Credo InfoLit: Searching for Information

Searching for Information

This module covers the basics of searching for information, including choosing the right source, identifying keywords, and search techniques.

 Find learning objectives, standards addressed, discussion topics, & activity ideas here

SEARCHING FOR INFORMATION MODULE ToC

  1. Introduction
  2. Video: Choosing a Database
  3. Tutorial: Choosing and Using Keywords
  4. Quiz: Choosing a Database
  5. Quiz: Choosing and Using Keywords
  6. Tutorial: Search Techniques Part 1
  7. Tutorial: Search Techniques Part 2
  8. Video: Refining Search Results
  9. Quiz: Search Techniques
  10. Instructor Guide 
Loading

Using "Find it @ FIU"

So, what's Find it @ FIU?
It's an OpenURL link resolver.  Basically, when you perform a search in one of the library databases, such as Gale's Academic OneFile, you will at times see a button/link labeled "Find It @FIU" next to each article citation, like this:
 

Clicking on this button will also provide you with any available full-text options for the article. 

What does CitationLinker do?
It helps you find the full text of articles. When doing research, you often find a citation or maybe an abstract, of an article in a database but the text of the article isn’t included. CitationLinker and its associated tools (360Link, eJournal Portal, Find it) will let you check all the other library full text resources to see if you can get the article either in a different database or in the library’s print or microform periodicals.

Look for the “Find it @FIU” results screen sidebar on the right:

 

 

 

Loading