Hosts unique digital collections of cultural, historical, scholarly, educational, and community resources; including rare books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and oral histories held by the university as well as partner institutions.
Works of art digitally available for free and without restriction, so that all those who create or appreciate art—scholars, artists, art lovers, and entrepreneurs—will have greater access to high-quality digital images for their studies and projects; Images include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.
"The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress." Publisher's website
"Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google." Publisher's website
AdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. These commercials were created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Founded in 1929, Benton & Bowles was a New York advertising agency that merged with D'Arcy Masius McManus in 1985 to form DMB&B. Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others.
Indexes periodicals, books, newspapers, and government documents published in the 19th century. Includes over 60 subject indexes to nineteenth century literature, including newspapers, periodicals, books, and government publications. Contains 5 series: Series I: Multi Title Periodical Indexes; Series II: Book Indexes; Series III: Newspaper Indexes; Series IV: Individual Periodical Indexes; Series V: U.S. and U.K. Government Documents Indexes and U.S. Patent Index. ~1 million images from ARTstor Digital Library and American Memory historical collections, now accessible through 19th Century Masterfile.
Includes Current Biography and World Authors series, Biography Index, and Junior Authors & Illustrators; This database contains biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work.
An enormous digital collection of artwork spanning centuries and continents; The Google Cultural Institute brings together millions of artifacts from multiple partners, with the stories that bring them to life, in a virtual museum.
"Sociological Images is designed to encourage all kinds of people to exercise and develop their sociological imagination by presenting brief sociological discussions of compelling and timely imagery that spans the breadth of sociological inquiry." - from Sociological Images
More than 300 outstanding digital collections, containing over 7 million pages of unique manuscripts and letters, antique maps, rare children's literature books, theses and dissertations, newspapers, historic photographs, oral histories, and more. The University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC) enables users to find unique and rare digitized materials held at the University of Florida and partner institutions.
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more; Coverage back to 1928
Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
The name BHA has been used informally to refer to a group of databases: RAA, RILA, BHA, and IBA; The data available on the Getty Web site as of July 1, 2010, comprises two databases: BHA and RILA; BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990–2007; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English; RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art), covers 1975–1989; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in English and all subject terms in English; At present, the Getty has no plans to add RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie), which covers 1973–1989.
Indexes 170+ design and craft journals and newspapers; Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelery, wood, metal-smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and film-making.
A comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s; Access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources.
RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art), covers 1975–1989; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in English and all subject terms in English. At present, the Getty has no plans to add RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie), which covers 1973–1989.
Home of WGBH Media Library and Archives (MLA); Provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH; Contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
Collection of Dutch artifacts, including rare book covers, calendars, proofs, advertisements, and original sketches from circa 1880 to 1940, as well as an unrivaled collection of "Nieuwe Kunst" (Art Nouveau or "new art").
Collection of modern Italian art and design comprises a selection of digital images from The Wolfsonian–FIU’s extensive holdings of art and artifacts made in Italy in the late-nineteenth century to the mid-twentieth century; The collection includes fine and decorative arts, graphic design, architectural drawings, and rare books and ephemera.
Subjects include: Celebrations and Rituals, Food and Drink, Holidays and Festivals, Music and Dance, Religion and Belief, Tales, Myths, Urban Legends, Traditional Arts and Crafts; Content includes: reference works, classic folk tales, multimedia resources, images, maps, and vetted Weblinks.
This image archive from Boston College Professor Jeffrey Howe consists of digitized images of European and American architecture and in some cases includes explanatory material. Although no longer updated, it remains a useful and informative site.
This image archive, from Boston College Professor Jeffrey Howe, consists of digitized images of American architecture and in some cases includes explanatory material. It was originally constructed as a supplement to the course "FA 267 From Saltbox to Skyscraper: Architecture in America that surveys the development of architecture in America from the 17th century to the present, with particular emphasis given to local architectural monuments." Although no longer updated, it remains a useful and informative site.
Indexes 600+ U.S. and foreign publications; Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews; Also contains over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. The AICT website's emphasis on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture reflects the author's research and teaching interests.
Resource for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics; Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books and press releases.
SPIRO is the visual online public access catalog to the 35mm slide collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL) at the University of California at Berkeley. The collection numbers over 250,000 slides and 20,000 photographs.
The Art Project is a collaboration between Google and 151 art partners from across 40 countries. Users can explore a wide range of artworks at brushstroke level detail, take a virtual tour of a museum and build their own collections to share.
Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web, currently resides on the Smithsonian Institution Libraries web site. It includes over 3000 links to online exhibitions from libraries, archives, and museums around the world.
More than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s world-renowned collection may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.
The Ringling Collection is comprised of cabinet cards, postcards and photographs of 19th Century American and British actors and actresses. There are more than 6,000 images in this digital collection depicting more than 3,000 actors and actresses. The Collection is important not simply for its pictures of the idols of a bye-gone era but for its depictions of clothing, hair styles, and other indicators of the period's social mores and attitudes. The original collection is housed in the Belknap Collection for the Performing Arts in the Smathers Libraries' Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida.
The John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art, the State Art Museum of Florida, is the legacy of circus entrepreneur and art collector John Ringling and his wife, Mable. The Sarasota estate includes the Museum of Art; Ca' d'Zan mansion, historic grounds and gardens; Historic Asolo Theater; and Circus Museums. Materials scheduled to be included in the Ringling Museum Digital Collections are part of the Circus Museum and Tibbals Digital Collections.
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 29.000 reproductions.
"The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) began collecting modern photography in 1930 and established the department in 1940. The Museum's holdings of more than 25,000 works constitute one of the most important collections of modern and contemporary photography in the world. As diverse as photography itself, the collection includes work not only by artists, but also by journalists, scientists, entrepreneurs, and amateurs." Organization's website