Skip to main content

General History Guide

This Guide serves as an introduction to General History Sources for History and Non-History Majors

Welcome

My name is Christopher Jimenez, Web Services Librarian and Liaison to the History Department. Welcome to the General History LibGuide.  This guide provides a cross section of materials that covers various areas of History.  These are resources that every History student needs to be aware of.  Annotation is provided to enlighten the user about each item. Below is a general description of the layout of this guide.

  • Reference: Print and digital reference materials, including dictionaries, handbooks, indexes and abstracts.
  • Articles: Describes some of the important databases for historical research.
  • Primary & Secondary Resources: Shows the difference between the types of resources and provides examples.
  • Media: How to find images, audio and video resources.
  • Statistics, Maps and Atlases:  Guide to resources for statistical and map information.
  • Newspapers:  Guide to the newspaper databases available for search, includes unique materials.
  • Citation: Quick reference on properly citing sources.
  • Help: Where you can go for more research help.

Also in this Welcome page are the latest headlines in the History department and the Department of History Student Organization (DOHGSA). Check out the latest departmental information!

History Department News

Loading

Copyright


Christopher Jimenez, FIU Libraries

This LibGuide is provided with an Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike Creative Commons license. If you would like to reuse any part of this LibGuide for noncommercial educational or instructional purposes, please contact and credit the guide's creator, Christopher Jimenez, Web Services Librarian at the FIU Libraries, and include a link to this guide.