Skip to main content

EDF4604: Final Artifact

Guide for APA, Annotated Bibliography, Plagiarism, RefWorks & Critical Dialogue

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated bibliographies are lists of resources that include an evaluative summary of each resource.  More than just a summary of the article, annotated bibliographies give you a chance to critique the resources you're finding.  They can also help you determine whether your research question is viable.  Take a look at some of the resourcs on this page to help you write a strong annotated bibliography!

When writing an annotated bibliography, it's helpful to ask yourself these 3 questions for each source:

1. What is this book/journal article/etc really about?  Summarize the main points.  Remember that an annotated bibliography is more than just a summary, however.

2.  How does this resource relate to the other sources in my bibliography?  Is it biased?  Is it basic or advanced?  Who are the authors and how do they compare with the other authors?  Critically analyze your resource and compare it to other resources in your annotated bibliography.

3. How does this resource help or hurt my research?  What is the unique information?  How does this uphold or change your research focus? Should you include it in your paper?  Why or why not?


The point of an annotated bibliography is to tell the story of your research and your thinking process so that when you sit down to write the paper, you have a strong foundation of thought and information.

Loading

RefWorks Account: Managing your Research

RefWorks is a citation software that allows researchers to save and organize their citations as well as generate bibliographies and works cited lists. Citations from numerous databases can be imported into RefWorks easily.

RefWorks is in the middle of a transition right now! Use the guide below to help you decide which version of RefWorks to use or sign up for.  

Loading