Digital Scholar Studio - Online Tools & Resources

DiRT (Digital Research Tools) Directory

http://dirtdirectory.org/

"The DiRT Directory is a registry of digital research tools for scholarly use. DiRT makes it easy for digital humanists and others conducting digital research to find and compare resources ranging from content management systems to music OCR, statistical analysis packages to mindmapping software."


UCLA’s Digital Art Historian’s Toolkit

http://program.dh.ucla.edu/getty/index.php/the-digital-art-historians-toolkit/

"A snapshot of tools that could be useful to art historians specifically. We’ve focused here on free, off-the-shelf tools that don’t require programming knowledge and might be particularly interesting to people who work with a lot of images."


Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media

Research + Tools 

http://chnm.gmu.edu/research-and-tools/

Digital Humanities tools and descriptions of how they may be used.

Google Books - Ngram Viewer

https://books.google.com/ngrams

A tool to graph the usage of terms/phrases over a set period of time.


Voyant

http://voyant-tools.org/

"Voyant Tools is a web-based reading and analysis environment for digital texts."

Omeka

http://omeka.org/ & http://omeka.net/

"Omeka is a free, flexible, and open source web-publishing platform for the display of library, museum, archives, and scholarly collections and exhibitions."


Scalar

http://scalar.usc.edu/scalar/

"Scalar is a free, open source authoring and publishing platform that’s designed to make it easy for authors to write long-form, born-digital scholarship online. Scalar enables users to assemble media from multiple sources and juxtapose them with their own writing in a variety of ways, with minimal technical expertise required."


Neatline

http://neatline.org/

"Neatline allows scholars, students, and curators to tell stories with maps and timelines. As a suite of add-on tools forOmeka, it opens new possibilities for hand-crafted, interactive spatial and temporal interpretation."


Northwestern University Knight Lab

"Northwestern University Knight Lab is a community of designers, developers, students, and educators working on experiments designed to push journalism into new spaces. The Lab provides an open, collaborative environment for interdisciplinary exploration and conversation, where students and professionals learn together and from one another..." http://knightlab.northwestern.edu/

 

JuxtaposeJS

https://juxtapose.knightlab.com/

"JuxtaposeJS helps storytellers compare two pieces of similar media, including photos, and GIFs. It’s ideal for highlighting then/now stories that explain slow changes over time (growth of a city skyline, regrowth of a forest, etc.) or before/after stories that show the impact of single dramatic events (natural disasters, protests, wars, etc.)."


TimelineJS

https://timeline.knightlab.com/

"TimelineJS is an open-source tool that enables anyone to build visually rich, interactive timelines. Beginners can create a timeline using nothing more than a Google spreadsheet"


StoryMapJS

https://storymap.knightlab.com/

"StoryMapJS is a free tool to help you tell stories on the web that highlight the locations of a series of events. It is a new tool, yet stable in our development environment, and it has a friendly authoring tool."


SoundCiteJS

https://soundcite.knightlab.com/

"SoundCite is a simple-to-use tool that lets you add inline audio to your story. The audio is not isolated; it plays right under the text you choose."

Neatline

http://neatline.org/

"Neatline allows scholars, students, and curators to tell stories with maps and timelines. As a suite of add-on tools forOmeka, it opens new possibilities for hand-crafted, interactive spatial and temporal interpretation."


Northwestern University Knight Lab

StoryMapJS

https://storymap.knightlab.com/

"StoryMapJS is a free tool to help you tell stories on the web that highlight the locations of a series of events. It is a new tool, yet stable in our development environment, and it has a friendly authoring tool."

Dipity

http://www.dipity.com/

"Dipity is a free digital timeline website... Users can create, share, embed and collaborate on interactive, visually engaging timelines that integrate video, audio, images, text, links, social media, location and timestamps."


Northwestern University Knight Lab

TimelineJS

https://timeline.knightlab.com/

"TimelineJS is an open-source tool that enables anyone to build visually rich, interactive timelines. Beginners can create a timeline using nothing more than a Google spreadsheet"


Time Glider

http://timeglider.com/

"Web-based timeline software for creating and sharing history, project planning and more"


myHistro

http://www.myhistro.com/

"Using myHistro, you can combine maps and timelines seamlessly into one great presentation, convert any public timeline into a personal pdf file, or export it into Google Earth format for offline storage. All completed timelines can be embedded into your blog and websites for maximum exposure."

Neatline

http://neatline.org/

"Neatline allows scholars, students, and curators to tell stories with maps and timelines. As a suite of add-on tools forOmeka, it opens new possibilities for hand-crafted, interactive spatial and temporal interpretation."


Omeka

http://omeka.org/ & http://omeka.net/

"Omeka is a free, flexible, and open source web-publishing platform for the display of library, museum, archives, and scholarly collections and exhibitions."


Scalar

http://scalar.usc.edu/scalar/

"Scalar is a free, open source authoring and publishing platform that’s designed to make it easy for authors to write long-form, born-digital scholarship online. Scalar enables users to assemble media from multiple sources and juxtapose them with their own writing in a variety of ways, with minimal technical expertise required."

Scripto

http://scripto.org/

"Scripto is an open-source tool that permits registered users to view digital files and transcribe them with an easy-to-use toolbar, rendering that text searchable. The tool includes a versioning history and editorial controls to make public contributions more manageable, and supports the transcription of a wide range of file types (both images and documents)."

Northwestern University Knight Lab

SoundCiteJS

https://soundcite.knightlab.com/

"SoundCite is a simple-to-use tool that lets you add inline audio to your story. The audio is not isolated; it plays right under the text you choose."

Easel.ly

http://www.easel.ly/

"Easel.ly is a website that features thousands of free infographic templates and design objects which users can customize to create and share their visual ideas online. Using the site is as easy as dragging and dropping design elements, and users can either choose a template from our extensive library, or they can upload their own background image and start from scratch."


Infogr.am

https://infogr.am/

Free basic account with optional fee-based infographic service


Piktochart

https://piktochart.com/

An editor created for your convenience. "Infographics have been riding the waves of the Internet trend for the past years, and it’s not slowing down. Holding its hand is Piktochart, and holding your hand is our easy-to-use editor, created just for you. From background colors and images to inserting texts and banners, the Piktochart editor will empower you to do it within seconds."

Loading