This guide provides information and techniques for the prevention of plagiarism.
Last Updated: Jan 10, 2014
Concerns, procedures and sanctions about academic honesty are
articulated in the FIU
Code of Academic Integrity which was adopted by the Student
Government Association on November 28, 2001. The following Pledge from
the FIU Student Handbook specifically discourages plagiarism:
As a student of this university:
- I will be honest in my academic endeavors.
- I will not represent someone else's work as my own.
- I will not cheat, or will I aid in another's cheating.
Use of the World Wide Web as a research resource
problem of plagiarism in colleges and universities worldwide.
The links to tutorials and websites in this guide will provide
and techniques for the prevention of plagiarism.
- Avoiding Plagiarism: What Do I Need to Cite?
This 65 second video from Iowa State University, answers the main question, What do I need to cite?
- The Plagiarism Court: You Be the Judge
This well-designed, interactive tutorial from Fairfield University provides an overview of plagiarism and its legal and ethical consequences. Most importantly it suggests "notetaking, documentation and writing strategies to help you avoid accidental plagiarism". A quiz section provides an opportunity to check your understanding and to receive feedback on your choices. It is also available in a non-Flash html version.
- You Quote It, You Note It
This interactive tutorial from Acadia University (Canada) discusses plagiarism by comparing paraphrasing and quoting, shows how to properly do both as well as how to properly cite your sources. And, it only takes about 10 minutes to complete!
- Diagnosis: Plagiarism
Produced by Yavapai College (AZ), this humorous video and interactive tutorial provides an overview of plagiarism, summarizing and paraphrasing including a brief info on APA or MLA (you choose) style formats.
- Oops, I Plagiarized
Produced by UCLA, this module is full of information, some quirky tidbits and includes a final quiz.
- What is Plagiarism?
From Rutgers University (NJ), this is an informative yet humorous introduction to plagiarism including tips to improve your writing in an effort to avoid plagiarism. The tutorial consists of two flash movies and a quiz to test your understanding of the content.
- Avoiding Plagiarism
This interactive tutorial and quiz from Mt. Hood Community College (OR) is a simple introduction to plagiarism and how to cite sources.
- Avoid Plagiarism - Give Credit Where Credit is Due
A quick, easy to read primer from the University of Oregon describing and providing tips for avoiding plagiarism.
- Real World Examples
Produced by UC San Diego, this webpage provides examples of now infamous individuals who perpetrated plagiarism and suffered the consequences of their actions.
- Paraphrase: Write it in Your Own Words
This page comes from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL). It provides examples and directions for paraphrasing properly. In addition, it links to a page of exercises for practicing paraphrasing and a page on quoting, paraphrasing and summarizing. There are printer-friendly and PDF versions available on this page.
- How to Avoid Plagiarism
This web page from Northwestern University's Undergraduate Academic Conduct Committee provides Guidelines for Proper Attribution including examples with very clear explanations as well as sample citations for direct quotation, interpretation and paraphrasing.
- Quoting and Paraphrasing Sources
This series of web pages from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center, provides a simple explanation of plagiarism and focuses on directions to successfully quote and paraphrase in your writing. NOTE: Navigate the pages on the right side
This commercial site is designed to help educators and students develop a better sense of what plagiarism means and to teach the planning, organizational, and citation skills essential for producing quality writing and research. Although this site is affiliated with various products including Turnitin.com (FIU has a license) there is a great deal of useful information in this extensive module.
- Avoiding Plagiarism
This web page from The Writing Place at Northwestern University provides tips for avoiding accidental plagiarism.
- Plagiarism: What It is and How to Recognize and Avoid It
This web page from Indiana University provides examples of correct and incorrect paraphrasing with commentary.