These records are an extremely rich source of documentation for the African American family historian seeking to "bridge the gap" for the transitional period from slavery to freedom, and may provide considerable personal data about the African American family and community. For example, these records may contain information about family relations, marriages, births, deaths, occupations, places of residence, names of slave owners, information concerning black military service, plantation conditions, manumissions, property ownership, migration, and a host of other family-related matters.
The Enrique Hurtado de Mendoza Collections is a unique research collection at the Green Library at Florida International University. FIU Libraries has acquired this collection of thousands of books, handwritten and typed letters, photos and other primary documents relating to Cuba and Cuban genealogy, collected over four decades by Felix Enrique Hurtado de Mendoza. The Enrique Hurtado de Mendoza Collection includes rare 17th and 18th century books, long out-of-print publications and periodicals that few, if any, U.S. libraries hold in their catalogs. Additionally, thousands of unpublished family genealogies and manuscripts make this collection particularly significant.
The HGRC maintains and presents online the Great New Mexico Pedigree Database (GNMPD) using the WebTrees software. WebTrees allows multiple operators to input genealogical data that is available for viewing in real time. Much of the data and many features presented by WebTrees are available to the general public. More details and features are available to the registered user. Registration for a username and password is an easy process initiated by selecting "Login" on the WebTrees page. The GNMPD in its original format will continue to be maintained for some time with considerable time lag.
JewishGen is committed to ensuring Jewish continuity for present generations and the generations yet to come. Our free, easy to use website features thousands of databases, research tools and other resources to help those with Jewish ancestry research and find family members. JewishGen’s mission is to encourage the preservation of Jewish heritage, allowing anyone with Jewish ancestry to research their roots, connect with relatives, and learn about their family history.
Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990s. The National Archives preserves and makes available the documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business. Since the U.S. Government’s interactions with American Indians changed over time, knowing the geographic place and the time period will help create a more positive research experience. As you plan your research, consider this question: how does my research topic intersect with the U.S. Federal Government? To help you answer this question, use the navigation options below to explore the vast resources relating to American Indian research.
This guide provides information about Native American genealogy research tools, mostly those available on the Internet. The National Indian Law Library specializes in providing Indian law research assistance and does not have genealogy expertise.