Skip to main content

Faculty Services & Resources

This page is intended to acquaint you with the suites of services available to faculty. Take advantage of resources and services listed and offer your suggestions for how we can better assist you and your students. If you have questions or comments please

Looking for funding opportunities?  Visit the  University's Research Department for a helpful listing of funding search tools, sites,  and submission opportunities.  

off-campus access & getting full text

NOTE: For many of the resources listed, access on campus or through the "off-campus access" portal is required.  For off-campus access to library-licensed e-Journals, research databases and other e-resources, you must log-in to  off campus access button  from the library homepage

After accessing the databases and resources, you may see   find it icon  -OR- find it icon small  in your search results, click this button to check for access to the full-text content. 

databases, journals, and books

A-Z Databases List

Search for Periodical Titles
 

Browse Periodicals by Subject   

Browse Periodical Titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other
 

Browse Journal Packages

Search the Catalog
Find books, music, movies & more!


Loading

your research

Staying Current with Your Research
The sheer volume of information, as well as the number of information outlets available can make staying up to date a challenge. There are several features offered by publishers websites, databases, blogs, etc. that can help you to stay current.

Database Search Alerts
Database alerts let you run a search and be notified when new content is added to the database that fits your search. Setting one up will vary according to the database you are using, but typically, you'll find that there are three types of database search alerts: New search alerts, Recent search alerts, and Publication alerts. Alert options will typically be available to you after you perform your search.  Just look for "Save Search" or "Alert" options.  

Citation Alerts
Citation alerts will notify you when an indicated article or author is cited by a newly published article (including your own). Typically, you will be sent an email every time the article or author that you chose is cited.  Citation alerts may come from: databases, publishers/journals, or other tools like Google Scholar. Just as with Database Alerts, you might see a variety of set up options for Citation Alerts.  To set up alerts for Google Scholar, visit their help page(s).  

Publisher/Journal Table of Content Alerts
TOC alerts are setup via the journal site/page or the publisher.  The upcoming or new issue's 'table of contents' are emailed directly to you. This conveniently allows you to skim titles and save them to read later. Most journals and pubishers offer this type of alert. 

_______________________________________________________________

Other popular current awareness tools
There are a range of evolving current awareness services and tools available to help you keep up-to-date quickly and conveniently.

Visit our guide for information on resources to help faculty measure journal, article and author impact factors. Includes details on citation analysis, journal rankings, and biblio/altmetrics

data management plan lifecyleWhat is Data Management?
Data management is the process of controlling the information generated during a research project. Research projects across disciplines result in data. Data management can ensure the accessibility of data throughout the data’s life cycle.

Our GIS Center has compiled information and resources to help you get started.  Visit them for more information on 

  • The data life cyle
  • Data management plans and details
  • How to write a data management plan
  • Helpful data management tools
  • Sharing and storage
  • ...and more
Loading

frequently used research tools

RefWorks Account: Managing your Research

RefWorks is a citation software that allows researchers to save and organize their citations as well as generate bibliographies and works cited lists. Citations from numerous databases can be imported into RefWorks easily.

RefWorks is in the middle of a transition right now! Use the guide below to help you decide which version of RefWorks to use or sign up for.  

Loading

Institutional repository: Digital Commons

Our Digital Commons is FIU's open access archive; a central access point for FIU scholarship and creative works; a tool to promote FIU faculty and student research to a global community; a publishing platform for journals, grey literature, student work; and more!