Skip to main content

researchHOW - Information Literacy Toolbox: Navigating the Library

Come for the information, stay for the literacy

The resources on this page will give you a sampling of some library basics - searching for  a book, using  our resources from off campus,  using InterLibrary Loan, checking out a Group Study Room, and more.  

where's my library card #?

Your FIU OneCard is your library card!
The 14-digit library barcode number on the back of your ID card beginning with 21199000- is your key to the kingdom. 

Use your FIU OneCard to check out books, materials and devices. Using your library card number you can perform a number of online transactions such as: renew books, check out group study rooms, access our electronic databases from home, and request articles and materials from other libraries if they are not available in our collections.

tutorial: Finding Books in the FIU Libraries

Search the Catalog
Find books, music, movies & more!


How to read our call numbers

 

 

Looking for More? 

Loading

Tutorial: Interlibrary loan

Do we not own or have access to what you are looking for? 
Just request it - for FREE!  Use InterLibrary Loan / ILLiad to get the book from another institution.

Order a book and you will be notified via email that your book has arrived.  Books generally arrive within 10 days.
Is it an article?  Your ILLIAD account will act like a drop box for articles that can be delivered online.  You'll also get an email to let you know when to login to your account to retrieve your item.  

TIP: When searching WorldCat, click on the book title and use the "Send Request to ILLiad" link to order the book.  Sign-in to ILLiad and the database will fill in the form for you!

Important Information:

  • ILLiad and Interlibrary Loan are available for FIU and SUL faculty, staff, enrolled students, and FIU alumni and corporate public borrowers.
  • You are responsible for keeping your password private and secure.
  • If you are another library looking to request materials from us, view our Borrowing Library page.
  • Submit Interlibrary Loan requests via the ILLiad webpages.
  • Interlibrary Loan will try to obtain books, articles, and other items that are not owned by the FIU University Libraries from other libraries.
  • Please allow 1 business day for your ILLiad registration to be confirmed and activated.

Interlibrary Loan Policies

  • FIU Library Card holders only. Please do not abbreviate. Incomplete or incorrect information may delay request processing.
  • Requests are processed Monday's through Friday's, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Please allow three (3) business days for your material to arrive, providing it is available for use. This applies to articles only. Other materials may take longer.
  • Notifications are sent by email.
  • There is no limit to the number of requests submitted per day, but minimum of five (5) requests per person per day will be processed.
  • A limit of twenty (20) Interlibrary Loan items can be checked out at any time.

Using ILLiad

ILLiad is the online request and management service used by the FIU Libraries for Interlibrary Loan.

ILLiad Service and Features

  • View and track your ILL request records online
  • Request materials 24 hours a day online
  • View the progress of your requests at each stage of the process
  • Rely upon email to communicate with the ILLiad staff
  • View checked out items and request renewals online*
  • Access your account to change personal information and passwords
  • View current and past requests
  • Attach notes to each request
  • Track all ILL requests.
  • Accept citations from many online databases with minimal clicks.
  • Send email notifications when materials are ready for you.
  • Provide assurance for confidentiality regarding your personal information and requests.

*Renewals are at the discretion of the lending institution. Submit your renewal request through ILLiad before the due date, and wait a few days to see if the renewal due date is reflected. If the lending institution has not offered an extension, your original due date stands. Accounts will be blocked for overdue books. Call your local ILLiad staff member for help with the process of requesting an extension if you wish. It is common that no extensions are offered, so order another copy of your item if you anticipate an extended need.

Intercampus Loan Information

To submit Intercampus Loan requests, first login to your Library Account and then look up your item. Select "Request" for the item and choose your pick-up location. You will receive an e-mail when the item is ready. Please allow two (2) business days for processing and shipping.

Loading

off-campus access & getting full text

Trying to access articles & do research from off campus?
You have the same access to our online resources while off campus, as you do while on campus!

For many of the research resources offered by the Libraries, access is restricted to currently registered students, faculty, and staff.  When trying to connect to these services from off campus, you will be required to login through the "off-campus access" portal.  Start by entering either your FIU email username + password OR your library account number + your birth month and day.  

If you are on campus, typically no additional login is required. 

Once you've accessed the databases and resources, and you've started your searching, you may see Find it @ FIU  -OR- find it icon small  in your search results, click this button/text to check access options for the fulltext. 

 

 

access services & circulation

The Access Services Department facilitates physical and virtual access for circulation services, interlibrary and intercampus loan services, collection maintenance, patron assistance, and course reserve materials. The customer is our focus and excellent service to users is the mission of all department activities. The Library's primary purpose is to support and provide for the research and instructional needs of students, faculty, and researchers of the University. The Access Services Department is committed to playing an integral role in this mission.

  • Alumni Services: Information and data for our graduated FIU members--welcome back!
  • Faculty: For scheduling library instruction and other services offered to FIU's faculty and staff.
  • Online Students: A portal to the resources and services offered to our online students and distance learners.
  • Retiree Services: Thanks for all you've done for us, FIU retirees! As our thanks, please take advantage of the resources we continue to extend your way.
  • Visitor Services: Support for Non-FIU public members who would like to use our public services and resources.


Modesto A. Maidique Campus, Green Library
Check Out Desk - Circulation, Interlibrary Loan, Course Reserves
305-348-2451
2nd Floor, GL-290

 

 


Biscayne Bay Campus, Hubert Library
Circulation Desk / Interlibrary Loan / Course Reserves
305-919-5718
1st Floor, LIB-106

 

E-mail: access@fiu.edu

Loading

Using "Find it @ FIU"

So, what's Find it @ FIU?
It's an OpenURL link resolver... That's fancy-talk for a tool that Libraries use to link together their online subscriptions.

Basically, when you perform a search in one of the library databases, such as Gale's Academic OneFile, you will at times see a button/link labeled "Find It @FIU" next to an article or citation, like this: 

Clicking on this button will also provide you with any available full-text options for the article. 

Remember:  when searching, look for a link to fulltext/PDF/Find it @ FIU to search for the article you want across our 400+ databases and/or Google Scholar!

Look for the “Find it @FIU” results screen sidebar on the right:

 

 

 

how to add library links to google scholarAdd Find it @FIU to Google Scholar
Are you a Google Scholar fan/user? You can "turn on" the library's resources in Google Scholar and access fulltext of journal articles while searching from off-campus!

To make these links appear, just access Google Scholar from an on-campus location of the library, and the links will automatically be included.

To get them on your computer:

  1. Click on Scholar Preferences in Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com)
  2. Type Florida International University in the "Library Links" section
  3. Check the boxes to select your options
  4. Save your preferences
  5. Start Searching!
Loading