FIU Digital Commons

Information on publishing, archiving and promoting your research through FIU's institutional repository

Institutional Repositories and Scholarly Communication

Library Publishing Coalition Professional Development Guide: Courses and Webinars

The production of this guide is sponsored and coordinated by the Library Publishing Coalition(LPC) Professional Development Committee, which bears primary responsibility for assessing professional development needs and planning and implementing professional development and training opportunities for LPC members throughout the year.

Rethinking Scholarly Communication: Building the System that Scholars Deserve

There is growing dissatisfaction with the established scholarly communication system. This dissatisfaction is the result of a variety of factors including rapidly rising subscription prices, concerns about copyright, latency between results and their actual publication, and restrictions on what can be published and how it can be disseminated. The result is a global debate on how to remedy the system's deficiencies, and that debate has inspired concrete initiatives aimed at reforming the process. These are concerned mainly with access issues and seek to alleviate two longstanding problems. The first, known as the "serials crisis," addresses the often prohibitive prices of journal publications that impede access to scholarly materials.

Open Access and Institutional Repositories

The case for Institutional Repositories: A SPARC Position Paper

"Institutional repositories—digital collections that capture and preserve the intellectual output of university communities—respond to two strategic issues facing academic institutions: 1) they provide a central component in reforming scholarly communication by stimulating innovation in a disaggregated publishing structure; and 2) they serve as tangible indicators of an institution’s quality, thus increasing its visibility, prestige, and public value. This paper examines institutional repositories from these complementary perspectives, describing their potential role and exploring their impact on major stakeholders in the scholarly communication process."

Institutional Repositories: Essential Infrastructure for Scholarship in the Digital Age

"In the fall of 2002, something extraordinary occurred in the continuing networked information revolution, shifting the dynamic among individually driven innovation, institutional progress, and the evolution of disciplinary scholarly practices. The development of institutional repositories emerged as a new strategy that allows universities to apply serious, systematic leverage to accelerate changes taking place in scholarship and scholarly communication, both moving beyond their historic relatively passive role of supporting established publishers in modernizing scholarly publishing through the licensing of digital content, and also scaling up beyond ad-hoc alliances, partnerships, and support arrangements with a few select faculty pioneers exploring more transformative new uses of the digital medium." 

Institutional Repositories and Open Access: The future of scholarly communication

The current model of scholarly communications fails to meet the information needs of researchers world-wide. New technology (in particular the coming of the internet) allows us to revise or to reinvent scholarly communication. This talk discusses the new models that are taking advantage of the new technology and describes a possible future for scholarly communications. In particular, I focus on the development of institutional repositories and open access journals and the way their interaction could result in a future where the world’s research is available to all.

Institutional Repositories and Digital Preservation: Assessing Current Practices at Research Libraries

In spring 2010, authors from the University of Massachusetts Amherst conducted a national survey on digital preservation of Institutional Repository (IR) materials among Association of Research Libraries (ARL) member institutions. Examining the current practices of digital preservation of IR materials, the survey of 72 research libraries reveals the challenges and opportunities of implementing digital preservation for IRs in a complex environment with rapidly evolving technology, practices, and standards. Findings from this survey will inform libraries about the current state of digital preservation for IRs.

The Open Access Initiative: A New Paradigm for Scholarly Communications 

This paper gives an account of the origin and development of the Open Access Initiative (OAI) and the digital technology that enables its existence. The researcher explains the crisis in scholarly communications and how open access (OA) can reform the present system. OA has evolved two systems for delivering research articles: OA archives or repositories and OA journals. They differ in that OA journals conduct peer review and OA archives do not. Discussion focuses on how these two delivery systems work, including such topics as OAI, local institutional repositories, Eprints self-archiving software, cross-archives searching, metadata harvesting, and the individuals who invented OA and organizations that support it.

Additional Repositories

Work from FIU's Digital Commons are collected and made accessible through these BePress repositories.

Undergraduate Research Commons

The Undergraduate Research Commons (URC) is a portal showcasing outstanding published works authored by thousands of undergraduate students. The portal was built to provide greater visibility to the exemplary student works that universities and colleges are publishing. FIU's undergraduates with work in FIU's Digital Commons are showcased in the Undergraduate Research Commons. 

Teaching Commons

The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.

Digital Commons Network

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. FIU is frequently in the top 10 for many discipline areas including Life Sciences, Education, Business, and Engineering.