Skip to main content

Online Student Research Guide & Resources

Credo InfoLit: Citations and Academic Integrity

 

Citations and Academic Integrity

This module covers the importance of academic integrity and the basics of citing sources in different styles.

 Find learning objectives, standards addressed, discussion topics, & activity ideas here

CITATIONS AND ACADEMIC INTEGRITY MODULE ToC

  1. Introduction
  2. Video: Why Citations Matter
  3. Tutorial: Why Citations Matter
  4. Video: APA Citations
  5. Tutorial: APA Citations
  6. Quiz: APA Citations
  7. Video: MLA Citations
  8. Tutorial: MLA Citations
  9. Quiz: MLA Citations
  10. Video: Turabian Citations
  11. Quiz: Turabian Citations
  12. Video: Harvard Citation Style
  13. Video: Chicago Style Book Citations
  14. Video: Chicago Style Journal & Website Citations
  15. Video: Academic Integrity
  16. Video: What is Plagiarism? Video: Copyright
  17. Quiz: Academic Integrity
  18. Instructor Guide 
Loading

Citation Tool Roundup

APA Sample Paper from the Purdue OWL

Download this pdf! It is an APA formatted research paper with every APA formatting spec explained with notes and directions for formatting and citing references.

https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/18/

Citations & Plagiarism LibGuide

Use this guide to find help and information on citation styles and avoiding plagiarism. Find APA, MLA, AMA, Turabian, Chicago, and some helpful Citation Managers.

http://libguides.fiu.edu/citation

refworks

RefWorks Login

RefWorks combines powerful citation management functionality including database import, web capture tools and thousands of flexible citation styles, plus a refined user experience, full-text management, collaboration and other features you’d expect from a total reference management solution.

Need an account: https://refworks.proquest.com/signup/florida-international-university/

Already have one: https://refworks.proquest.com/

cite catalog

Cite & Export from the FIUlibraries Catalog

If you click the "cite this" pencil icon: it will create a reference for that item.

If you click the "export" world icon: it will export this reference into a citation manager like RefWorks.

 

citation tutorials

Citation & Academic Integrity Tutorials

Tutorials will cover the importance of academic integrity and the basics of citing sources in different styles.

http://libguides.fiu.edu/infolit/citations

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated bibliographies are lists of resources that include an evaluative summary of each resource.  More than just a summary of the article, annotated bibliographies give you a chance to critique the resources you're finding.  They can also help you determine whether your research question is viable.  Take a look at some of the resourcs on this page to help you write a strong annotated bibliography!

What is an annotated bibliography?

It is a bibliography in which you include a short summary or abstract of sources you are thinking of using for a paper. It is more than a works cited list, which gives only a bibliographic citation for the source. These annotations do one or more of the following:

  • Describe the content and focus of the book, article or website
  • Suggest the source's usefulness to your research
  • Evaluate the source's method, conclusions or reliability
  • Record your reactions to the source

Why write an annotated bibliography?

They provide readers with background information about your sources, who then may want to consult those sources. It's a great way to organize your research by helping you critically evaluate books, journal articles, websites and other resources.

How do I go about starting this bibliography?

You should begin your annotated bibliography when you begin your research. This enables you to decide from the start which sources are appropriate for your study. As you read your material, you should identify the thesis statement, take notes, and make a brief outline of what you have read.

How do I format an annotated bibliography?

Just write the bibliographic entries as you would write any other bibliography, according to the style your instructor wishes. Check Citing Sources of information for the various style guides. The annotation starts beneath the citation, but you will need to check the style manual for specifics on form, spacing and consistency.

How do I write an annotation? What's included?

You should include one or two sentences summarizing or describing content and one or two sentences providing an evaluation. In evaluation, tell how the source is interesting or helpful to you, or why it is not. List what kind of and how much information is given.

The Summary

  • Write a few sentences summarizing the source. What was it about? What was the main point of it?

Your Personal Thoughts and Insights

  • Was the source helpful for your particular assignment?

  • How did it help answer your research question(s)?

  • How was this source different than the other sources used?

  • Did the source change your thinking on the research topic?

  • How did the source affect you?

How should I format sentences in an annotation?

Whole sentences are preferable and at times very concise sentences and simple phrases could be acceptable. Sentence length should vary to avoid short, choppy sentences. Every sentence should convey a maximum amount of information in a minimum number of words. Annotations should be 1-3 paragraphs long. Annotations should offer a summary of the material as well as critical comments. Critical comments should be supported by personal argument or knowledge.

When writing an annotated bibliography, it's helpful to ask yourself these 3 questions for each source:

1. What is this book/journal article/etc really about?  Summarize the main points.  Remember that an annotated bibliography is more than just a summary, however.

2.  How does this resource relate to the other sources in my bibliography?  Is it biased?  Is it basic or advanced?  Who are the authors and how do they compare with the other authors?  Critically analyze your resource and compare it to other resources in your annotated bibliography.

3. How does this resource help or hurt my research?  What is the unique information?  How does this uphold or change your research focus? Should you include it in your paper?  Why or why not?


The point of an annotated bibliography is to tell the story of your research and your thinking process so that when you sit down to write the paper, you have a strong foundation of thought and information.

Loading