Skip to main content

ETD Guide

Detailed Guide through the ETD process

FAQs

What is an ETD?
An Electronic Thesis or Dissertation (ETD) is the electronic representation of your thesis or dissertation. It is the same as its paper counterpart in content and organization, and it must meet FIU’s formatting requirements.  

What's an Embargo? 
An embargo is a limited and reasonable limitation of access to full-text of the ETD.  Copyright or pending patents would be primary reasons for selecting an embargo.  Contact the ETD Coordinator if you have further questions.

Can I put an embargo on my work?
Yes!  We have options for a six-month, one-year, and two-year embargo.  For MFA students, we offer a permanent embargo with a sample.  Non-MFA students who want a permanent embargo must submit a petition. 

Can I still print my thesis or dissertation?  
Yes!  We do not do this for you, but we have the contact information of the binderies that do: HERE 

Where is my ETD published?
All doctoral and masters manuscripts (except those under an embargo) are published online in the FIU Digital Commons, a digital repository for capturing, archiving, and disseminating the research, creative, and scholarly output of the Florida International University community.  Dissertations are also published on ProQuest based upon the student's selections on the Final ETD Approval Form.

What is ProQuest/UMI?
ProQuest maintains an online database that indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text access to dissertations and theses.  The database includes over 2.4 million records.  ProQuest began digitizing dissertations in 1997 from a microform archive.

How much does it cost to publish my manuscript to ProQuest/UMI?
Publishing to ProQuest/UMI is free for students.

Can I publish my manuscript as a book after graduation?
FIU holds non-exclusive rights to dissertation and thesis manuscripts.  The author retains ownership rights to the work and is free to do what he or she wants with the manuscript after final submission to UGS.

Who can I talk to if I have questions?
Questions related to M and D forms, formatting or other general questions can be directed to UGS at (305)348-2455 or ugs@fiu.edu.  ETD-specific questions should be referred to Brandie Thomas at etd@fiu.edu.

FEEDBACK

Anonymity is up to you.