A-Z List

An alphabetical listing of the databases available through FIU Libraries

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
via FIU Medical Library; AccessNeurology from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online neurology resource covering the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content – optimized for viewing on any device.
Trial
African Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1800-1925, offers unmatched coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the continent during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Algeria to Angola, Zambia to Zimbabwe, this unique resource chronicles the evolution of Africa through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items. Together, African Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, provide news and perspectives from a wide range of counties and cultures during a time of sweeping change.
Trial
Offers fresh perspective across wide-ranging academic disciplines. Diverse titles from Africa. Includes 19th and 20th-century newspapers. Trial available until December 15, 2017.
Trial
Sourced from The National Archives UK, Colonial America offers access to thousands of documents on North America from 1606-1822. Described as an ‘indispensable’ resource for researchers of the early-modern Atlantic world and winner of Library Journal’s ‘Best Reference’ Award, scholars and researchers have clamoured for access to this material for years. Published in five-modules:

Module I: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries (Available now)
Module II: Towards Revolution (Available now)
Module III: The American Revolution (Available now)
Module IV: Legislation and Politics in the Colonies
Module V: Growth, Trade and Development
Trial
Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines; This resource brings together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video; It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
Trial
Left of Liberalism: Marxist-Socialist Newspapers, 1900-2015 partners NA Publishing with the Marxist Internet Archive, making this collection of newspapers more discoverable, searchable, and useful to scholars and students, and securing its preservation (on Portico) for future scholars. Spanning the 20th century and beyond, these newspapers represent the voice of Communism, Socialism, and Marxism in the English-speaking world, addressing issues such as: early 20th-century labor conditions, the working class, the post-WW II rise of McCarthyism, unionism, the Civil Rights Movement, Nazi crimes against humanity, and labor strikes.
Trial
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. MGG is encyclopedic in the true sense of that term: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
Trial
A Reference source where you can find all the most important information about classical musical works - instrumentation, duration, year of composition, composer biographies, music notes and much more; Entries are largely derived from the vast amount of information included in the Naxos Music Library and augmented by information from many other sources including music publishers.
New
Free online access to The New York Times is now available to all FIU students, faculty, and staff. The Group Pass allows each FIU student, faculty and staff member to claim an online subscription to the nytimes.com site (no more paywalls!). Set up your account using the link.This service provides full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes mobile apps, as well as their international editions. Users will find a variety of topics covered with unsurpassed quality and depth through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. Convenient section lists and search tools make navigation simple.
Trial
The Business and Management Collection is an extensive resource of over 950 video lectures and case studies by leading experts from commerce, industry and academia; NOTE - for off-campus access, please contact Business Librarian at hammills AT fiu.edu
Trial
"...allows users to search through and view more than 53,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1996." NOTE: Registration is required upon initial login
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...