A-Z List

An alphabetical listing of the databases available through FIU Libraries

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines; This resource brings together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video; It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
Trial
Users can manipulate and explore the periodic table, molecules, and other 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand concepts in chemistry. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.
Trial
Users can manipulate and explore 3D models, allowing students to better visualize and understand human anatomy. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding.
Trial
Left of Liberalism: Marxist-Socialist Newspapers, 1900-2015 partners NA Publishing with the Marxist Internet Archive, making this collection of newspapers more discoverable, searchable, and useful to scholars and students, and securing its preservation (on Portico) for future scholars. Spanning the 20th century and beyond, these newspapers represent the voice of Communism, Socialism, and Marxism in the English-speaking world, addressing issues such as: early 20th-century labor conditions, the working class, the post-WW II rise of McCarthyism, unionism, the Civil Rights Movement, Nazi crimes against humanity, and labor strikes.
Trial
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. MGG is encyclopedic in the true sense of that term: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
Trial
A Reference source where you can find all the most important information about classical musical works - instrumentation, duration, year of composition, composer biographies, music notes and much more; Entries are largely derived from the vast amount of information included in the Naxos Music Library and augmented by information from many other sources including music publishers.
New
eBooks from West Thomson Reuters publishing; Work seamlessly across your desktop, laptop, or tablet; Includes court rules, statutes, treatises, practice series titles, Federal Civil Judicial Procedure and Rules, Patry on Copyright, Federal Rules of Evidence, and much more.
Trial
This is an ever-expanding full-text compilation of reference works, most of which are not available anywhere else online. The collection currently includes 45 seminal titles (published from 1775 to the present), and new content is added every year. This is an extensive global resource designed to meet the research needs of the international music community.
Trial
Service Newspapers of World War Two contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines.

In addition to maintaining the men’s morale and helping to create an atmosphere of solidarity, journalism played a vital role in keeping the servicemen informed about events in their unit and immediate locality, as well as delivering news from home and about the war at large. Many newspapers were written by the servicemen themselves, while others were sanctioned by senior staff and had a more official agenda.

This material, so rich in social and cultural history, offers a unique perspective on the local and global experience of the war, and will enable students and scholars to research key historical events of the War through the medium of contemporary publications.
Trial
Gale Small Business Builder helps patrons interested in planning and optimizing their businesses or nonprofits. Built for aspiring entrepreneurs and those with existing small businesses, it provides a step-by-step process supported by a rich variety of recognized tools that enable users to produce complete business plans and other documents essential for gaining access to capital and growing their enterprise.
· Within Gale Small Business Builder, you will be asked to sign in or create a new account.
· To view a pre-populated, read-only account, please use the credentials below:
o Username: GSBB_Trial_Viewer
o Password: GSBB_Trial_Viewer
· Be sure to sign out of the account when you are finished. To sign out, locate your user profile in the upper-right corner of the screen, click the user icon, and select "Sign Out."
· To create a new account with the ability to write and edit, return to Gale Small Business Builder via the trial link. When you arrive at the login page, create your account by clicking the "Get Started" button under "First Time Here?"
New
NOTE: You will be required to login using your FIU credentials and then create an account to use wsj.com
In a world where education and career opportunities are more competitive than ever, the need for you to obtain broader perspectives on a variety of global business issues is a necessity. Which is why FIU has joined The Wall Street Journal in a collaboration that will provide students and faculty full direct access to the Journal.
Trial
"...allows users to search through and view more than 53,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1996." NOTE: Registration is required upon initial login
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...