A-Z List

An alphabetical listing of the databases available through FIU Libraries

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Gale's 19th Century U.S. Newspapers — a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database — provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end.
Trial
As part of the Archives of Sexuality & Gender series, this collection enables students, educators, and researchers to thoroughly explore and make new connections in subjects such as LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more.
Trial
Explore events and movements in Eastern Europe — from WWII through the end of the Cold War — through news reports and firsthand accounts.

The European Bureaus Collection provides coverage of the twentieth century’s most influential international bureaus—Vienna, Geneva, Warsaw, Bern, Berlin, and Prague—as well as a special cross-bureau collection that covers conflicts and crises that affected the entire continent.
Trial
Discover the exclusive stories from one of the late twentieth and early twenty-first century's most volatile and influential regions.

With stories stemming from Jerusalem, Ankara, Beirut, and their surrounding areas, these records include news stories in the form of typescript carbons or wire copy – the versions that AP sent on to its member newspapers, which members were then free to alter.
Trial
This digital collection answers a need for English-language primary sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980. With manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, students are given an incredible insight into the changes wrought upon China during this period.
Trial
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
  • Internet link, free resource
Trial
Dialnet is a free online index of scholarly information on Spain and Latin America. Dialnet Plus provides a number of value-added features; including a more robust search function, visualization of search results, the ability to export results and create bibliographic lists, among others. In order to utilize the full functionality of Dialnet Plus, you must create an account. Registration is free. When registering your personal account, please select the following:

En país: “Estados Unidos”.
En tipo de Institución: “Universidad / Centro de investigación”.
En Institución: “Florida International University"
Trial
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library represents the digitization of one of the world’s most important Arabic collections, based on A.G. Ellis’s 1894-1901 record of publications. The full collection includes books on a variety of subjects printed from the fifteenth to nineteenth century in Arabic script, as well as translations into European and Asian languages.
  • Login required
Trial
Offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947. NOTE: PDF download options are not available during the trial
Trial
Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines; This resource brings together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video; It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
Trial
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. MGG is encyclopedic in the true sense of that term: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
Trial
With Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange scholars can research and explore a range of primary sources covering such topics as British and U.S. foreign policy and diplomacy; Asian political, economic, and social affairs; the Philippine Insurrection, the Opium Wars, the Boxer Rebellion, and missionary activities in Asia.
Trial
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest provides 1.5 m pages of primary sources that enable researchers to examine the motivations, activities and results of the European conquest of Africa in the long 19th century.
Trial
This new resource brings together monograph and manuscript collections to help scholars examine religion’s influences on the shaping of politics, law, economics, and society. Manuscripts and monographs explore the intersection of religion and society in the 19th Century enabling scholars to gain understanding of the influence religion had in shaping Western culture.
Trial
Focusing on South Asia, the Archive contains both serial and non-serial materials, including reports, rare books, and journal runs from noteworthy, rare publications. The documents in the Archive are truly interdisciplinary, reflecting the varied range of knowledge production in colonial and early post-colonial India.
  • Login required
Trial
The Business and Management Collection is an extensive resource of over 950 video lectures and case studies by leading experts from commerce, industry and academia; NOTE - for off-campus access, please contact Business Librarian at hammills AT fiu.edu
Trial
Students and researchers can immerse themselves in civil rights history like never before with our new archive American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990, part of the Making of Modern Law collection. Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), it focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court— topics intensely relevant to today’s curriculum and debates at both national and local levels.
Trial
Offers new ways of understanding the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism, supporting research in variety of disciplines.
This collection follows the development of the modern western world through the lens of trade and wealth — the driving force behind many of the major historical events during the period (1450-1850).
Trial
Access a wealth of documents on the developments and events from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries that shaped today's world.

The Making of the Modern World: Part II, 1851-1914 takes The Making of Modern World series to the end of the nineteenth century. Comprised mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, this collection broadens Gale's international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization, and the birth of the modern corporation.
Trial
"...allows users to search through and view more than 53,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1996." NOTE: Registration is required upon initial login
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...