Skip to main content

MAN4602: International Business

Course guide for the MAN4602 course.

Purpose of This Guide

This library research guide will help you with your group projects in International Business. It is important to search for the keywords of your topic.  Some (but not all) suggested search terms are provided.  

E-business Marketing Strategies in Global Business. Present the current status of e­ business in Europe, Asia, and Latin America-issues, problems, opportunities, and a statistical picture each region. Identify the current and potential market, strategies that work as well as those that have failed, and present 3-4 "best practices" or success stories that new entrants may wish to consider as they embark upon e-business in each of the three regions.

Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Collection for articles.  
Line 1: Asia OR Latin America OR Europe OR China OR Brazil OR ...
AND
Line 2: e-commerce OR electronic commerce 

Search EIU.com for country information.

Challenges in Managing Supply Chain Relationships in the Global Firm. Although trade integration and economic union continue to remove tariff and non-tariff barriers among nations, supply chain issues remain challenging. What are the principal impediments to smoothly functioning supply chains? What is being done to overcome these? Where has the greatest progress been made? What the best practices/case examples in supply chain management in global business among local as well as foreign firms? To what extent to leadership/HR, technology, and cooperation between suppliers and buyers shape the success (or failure) of supply chain relationships.

Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Collection for articles.  
Line 1: supply chain
AND
Line 2: leadership OR technology OR Human Resources OR ...
Once you have identified companies involved, search Mergent Online for company information.

Leadership Development in the Multinational Firm. The quest for talent continues, despite the economic slowdown worldwide. Companies are under intense pressure to identify, recruit, retain and promote the best talent they can find. Provide an overview and assessment of the best practices of multinational enterprises and financial services institutions to development leadership talent. For example, GE, Goldman Sachs, and Motorola have extensive leadership development programs. Many do so "in-house" while others contract out to university business schools and private entities such as the Center for Creative Leadership in North Carolina. Cite what works and why, what doesn't and why not, and make recommendations for further leadership development initiatives by these companies.

Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Collection for articles.  
Line 1: "leadership development"
AND
Line 2: multinational OR global
Line 1: "Center for Creative Leadership"

Search Mergent Online for company information.

 

Internationalization of the Gaming Industry. The video game industry has experienced explosive growth during the last ten years. With the huge and continuous expansion of computer and Internet access, an ever-wider range of game is available to populations of youngsters, young adults, and older adults. Describe the state of the video game industry, including size and scope and the major producers (and names of leading games) in the marketplace. Discuss the process of product development and marketing and present a vision of what consumers can expect in the near future.
Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Collection for articles.  
Line 1: "video game industry"

Search IBISWorld Industry Reports for industry reports.

Strategies for Export Success in the Technology Industry: The Cases of Taiwan and Israel. Both these nations are technology powerhouses with a huge global presence (e.g., the USB was invented in Israel; Acer computers were designed and are made in Taiwan). Provide an overview of the growth and development of the tech industry in both countries and present and analyze their winning strategies for export success, discussing both similarities and differences. Speculate as to the future export outlook in IT for both countries.

Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Collection for articles.  
Line 1: Taiwan OR Israel
AND
Line 2: technology 
Search IBISWorld Industry Reports for industry reports.
Search EIU.com for country information.

 

Current Status and Outlook for Backsourcing. The past couple of decades have witnessed a flurry of outsourcing activity across many industries and geographic locations. A recent and more interesting trend that has been the reversal of this outsourcing activity. Firms are now increasingly re-internalizing their previously outsourced activities; often times bringing offshore outsourced activities back to the home country. (Chadee and Rainan, 2009). What type of firms are more likely to backsource their activities? Examine differences in propensity to backsource across industries. Also look at differences in terms of firm size, age, prior outsourcing experience as well as range of outsourcing activities (number of current contracts). What types of activities are more likely to be backsourced and why? Analyze the various reasons behind backsourcing of different activities.. How do firms perceive backsourcing? Do they view it as a positive change in their sourcing strategy, undertaken to achieve greater strategic fit, or do they view it as a strategy failure? (Hint: examine firm press announcements)

Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Collection for articles.  
Line 1: backsourc* OR outsourc*


Search IBISWorld Industry Reports for industry reports.

Search EIU.com for country information.

 

Managing Innovation in the Multinational Firm. Innovation, in all its dimensions, is a critical determinant of business success in the 21st century. It is more than technology and can encompass management, design, customer service, and other features of a company's operations. Present and analyze one or more aspects of innovation in the international firm, evaluate it critically, discuss its impact on internal firm operations, customers, and shareholders. Emphasize the challenges of managing innovation in the firm and provide a blueprint for successfully implementing and managing innovation in companies.

Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Collection for articles.  
Line 1: innovation management
Search Mergent Online for company information.
Search EIU.com for country information.

 

Selling to the Government: Best Prospects for Small Entrepreneurial Firms. One of the most lucrative growth areas for both domestic and foreign firms is selling to the U.S. government-especially the Department of Defense (DOD). Research, analyze, and present a strategic business development plan for selling to DOD. What are the best prospects? Which branches of the military offer the ideal opportunities for small firms? What are the basic requirements and capabilities necessary to serve this non-traditional market? What financial and technical resources are available to support sales to the government? What are the key restrictions/limitations facing small firm sales to DOD? Cite 4-5 examples of small businesses, domestic and/or foreign that have succeeded in selling to the federal government.

 

The Impacts of Pharmaceutical Firms on the Competitiveness of Developing Nations. Research, analyze, and assess the activities of multinational firms such as Merck, Pfizer, Novartis, and Bayer in transferring technology and funding research and development in developing nations. Identify successful strategies and practices firms employ in supporting science and technology, joint ventures with local firms, and the training of highly skilled personnel. Present recommendations for firms to follow to advance both their commercial interests and the technological competitiveness of the host country.

 

What Makes a Successful Overseas Manager? Identifying, screening, and recruiting overseas managers is a critically important yet exceedingly difficult task. Review the various systems, approaches, and strategies used by major companies in assigning executives to overseas positions, with an emphasis on emerging markets. Assess,

 

Industrial Promotion and Foreign Direct Investment in Emerging Markets. The opening of emerging markets and global trade and investment have increased the competition among developing nations to attract foreign direct investment in export manufacturing "clusters" (e.g., Guadalajara in electronics, Bangalore in software, Istanbul in textiles). Identify and analyze one country's national and provincial efforts (principal policies, laws, regulations) to attract, retain, and expand foreign direct investment. Review the literature on "clusters" and value chains (see website of Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex) and focus on one or two clusters in that country, highlighting one or two industries, and assess the effectiveness of industrial promotion policies, citing corporate responses to these incentives.

 

Exporting to the United States from Peru. The U.S. is a significant buyer of off-season fresh fruits, condiments and vegetables from South America. Increased competition for US markets could soften pricing and reduce profits. What are the opportunities for Peru to develop off-season markets for its products using air-cargo transport to Europe or Asia? Can air-cargo routes skirt US ports to relive exporters from having to comply with post-911 regulatory requirements? [Note: Peru is a major exporter of asparagus, strawberries, bananas, mangos, corn, pigeon peas, lettuce, carrots, basil, yams and watercress. It also exports mustard, thyme, oregano and marjoram and other spices.]

 

Strategic Alliances: Why They Work, Why They Fail. Increasing competition is causing even rivals to work together to survive and thrive in the global economy. Strategic alliances are one way. In many instances, they work well; in others, they do not achieve their expected results. Where, when, and why do they work-give examples; where when, and why do they fail-give examples. Suggest guidelines and actions firms should follow to ensure a successful strategic alliance.

 

Global Competition in the Smartphone Market. Whether it is the HTC, iPhone, Samsung Galaxy, LG, Nokia, and Google, in smartphones are Apple iOS versus Adroid in operating systems, global competition is intensifying. Choose three phones or two operating systems and analyze the strategies, execution and performance of these competitors within the global marketplace--the entire world or just one region--and offer an assessment and recommendation as to which company or companies will be the big winner in this contest.

 

Globalization of the Fast Food Industry. From KFC in the USA, Pollo Campero (Guatemala), and Bob’s (Brazil), the fast food industry continues to globalize. Provide an overview of the international fast food industry, including size, presence, and product mix and cite and analyze the strengths, opportunities and shortcomings of the industry and winning strategies of 4 leading fast food companies.

Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Collection for articles.  
Line 1: fastfood OR "fast food"
AND
Line 2: global OR international

Search EIU.com for country information.

Search IBISWorld Industry Reports for industry reports.

 

Talent Recruitment in the IT Industry. The highly competitive IT industry, including the IT divisions of firms outside the industry, is faced with talent shortages at most levels. What are the factors contributing to the shortages? Where do the shortages lie and where are they most/least severe? What are firms doing to improve talent recruitment? Using 4 case examples of best practices present and summarize the steps companies should follow to boost their talent recruitment.

 

Canada in the Global Marketplace--How World Class Firms Achieve Success. With a population of only 35 million, Canada is nonetheless an economic powerhouse, especially it international presence in energy, natural resources, and financial services. Bombardier, SNC Lavalin, Thomson-Reuters, Scotiabank, and Barrick Gold are examples. Document Canada's trade and foreign direct investment worldwide; present the role of Canada's government in promoting and financing exports; and provide case studies of 6 Canadian multinationals and their winning strategies. Summarize the key factors and elements that contribute to the success of Canadian multinationals.

 

Global Outlook for the Luxury Goods Industry. High growth markets in Russia, China and the Gulf States are fueling the expansion of luxury goods sales along with the trend of global economic recovery from the 2008-2009 recession. Jewelry, yachts, cars, planes, clothing, accessories, and footwear are all experiencing growth. Provide a macro overview of the entire luxury goods industry, including size, scope, growth rate, and product category. Select three product categories and provide an in-depth analysis of how the 4 P's ---product, price, promotion and place--are addressed by world-class luxury goods producers. Compare and contrast and provide a forecast for where the three product categories are heading.

 

The International Arms Industry--Status and Outlook. Over $1.5 trillion are spent on military expenditures worldwide (2.7% of world GDP). The U.S., Russia, Germany, France and China are the largest arms exporters. With continuing tensions and conflicts in many regions of the world, along with the alleged need of nations to expand and upgrade their military capabilities, the arms industry will continue to flourish. Document the size and scope of the arms industry and focus on three segments (e.g., military aircraft, light arms, anti-terrorism systems and equipment) and investigate and analyze the export strategies, promotional schemes and financing options that arms exporters use to achieve success in foreign markets.

 

The Global Market for Alternative Energy. Irrespective of the price of oil in the global market, the search continues for cost-effective and clean energy—sourced from sugarcane, corn, switchgrass, wind and other natural sources. This is especially true among nations and industries that are very energy-intensive. Provide a thorough research of the evolution of the alternative energy industry during the last decade. What are the positives and negatives of adopting alternative energy among companies? Which have the greatest potential? Please cite and explain examples of best cases adopted by firms and nations. Provide an outlook for alternative energy globally, recognizing that fossil fuels are becoming both cleaner and more affordable.

 

Corporations and Corruption in Developing Nations—Roots of the Problem and Corporate Best Practices. Review the problem of multinational corporations and corruption in less developed nations, using one region or one country as an example; be sure to analyze the roots of the problem and what countries and firms have done and continue to do to crack down and eliminate corruption; present and discuss specific best practices of multinational firms to prevent and punish corruption by employees and suppliers of the firm and ensure ethical behavior within the company. Based on your analyses of corporate practices, present specific guidelines and a checklist for companies to follow in implementing best practices as well as management and supervisory processes to ensure successful outcomes.

 

Innovation in the Global Services Industry. The growth and expansion of the services industry worldwide have been relentless, covering a wide range of industries, from heavy manufacturing and consumer products to agribusiness and tourism and hospitality. Disrupters like Uber and Airbnb are among the most notable. Identify, analyze, and critique the leading innovations in the global services industry and highlight the drivers of global services innovation and the challenges and opportunities that exist in both industrialized and emerging markets.

Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Collection for articles.  
Line 1: Uber OR Airbnb
AND
Line 2: global OR international
AND
Line 3: innovation OR upheaval OR transformation OR breakthrough
Identify the top innovators and search for them.

Search IBISWorld Industry Reports for industry reports.

Trends in the Internationalization of Research and Development (R&D). Increasing multinational companies are investing more in R&D, both onshore and offshore across a wide variety of industries. Some is done entirely in-house, some is outsourced, and some is jointly conducted. What is the current state of international R&D? What are the trends? What are the forces and factors shaping it? Which industries and which companies tend to be the most creative, most innovative? What is the state of talent offshore that is recruited to staff R&D labs in those foreign locales?

 

Risks and Opportunities of Investing in Cuba. With the eventual loosening of both U.S. and Cuban government restrictions governing foreign investment in Cuba, numerous opportunities will arise for companies and entrepreneurs. Examining and analyzing the main foreign investment laws and regulations and the operations (6 case examples) of European and Latin American FDI in Cuba, evaluate the opportunities, barriers, threats and other risks associate with investing in Cuba.

Search Business Source Complete and ABI/Inform Collection for articles.  
Line 1: Cuba
AND
Line 2: "foreign direct investment" OR investment or FDI​
AND
Line 3: Europe OR Brazil OR Sweden OR Norway OR Chile OR Peru OR Colombia...

Search EIU.com for country information.

 

The Problem of International Money Laundering. In recent years, increasing attention has focused on interntional money laundering--criminal groups such as the Russian mafia, terrorist networks, and rogue states such as Iran have ingeniously found way to launder money for their illicit purposes. Provide an overview of international money laundering--its sources, operations, and the strategies and operations that governments employ to monitor it, root it out, and punish perpetrators. Highlight the winning strategies and actions that are used to achieve success in attacking the global money laundering problem.

QUICK ACCESS TO...

Loading
Loading
Loading

Start Here!

Loading

Streaming Media

Loading