The China Data Center at the University of Michigan is a national center designed to advance the study and understanding of China. Included are national, regional, and local, as well as economic, social, and historical statistics, in addition to census data.
Use the "Statistics on Map" tool (located on the side menu) to compare data for geographic areas side by side.
Catalog and digital collections from the Center for Research Libraries; Includes newspapers, journals, documents, archives and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching across various disciplines.
Worldwide coverage of the literature in international relations, including: working papers, conference proceedings, journal abstracts, books, a schedule of events, policy briefs, economic indicators, original essays, links and resources, maps and country data.
Contains descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups of the world; Information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Documents (books, articles, and dissertations) have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's culture and subject classification systems: the Outline of World Cultures (OWC), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).
Collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world. Includes thematic essays by leading scholars. Essays introduce the material, suggest possible approaches, and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. Collection consists of five sections: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, 1607-2007.
Includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses; Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Native People; It is updated daily with new content and contains over 2 million full text articles.
Online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world; Contains over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork
NOTE: FIU has access to the Middle East and Africa (1980-87), Middle East and North Africa (1974-80), China and Latin America 1974-1996 Series; Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world; Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world.
Award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Access to high-quality digital programs and video clips; Available collections include the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection, Science Collection, Business and Economics Collection, and Health Collection.
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication; The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office.
Electronic full text of back files of 644+ scholarly journals. Recent years are not available; FIU has access to following collections: Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV, and Complement, Ecology and Botany Collection I & II, Life Sciences, Business IV, and the Jewish Studies Collection .
Abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Indexes 1,680+ international journals within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy; Many records, added to the database since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article.
A wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century; The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.